Shifting that Center, Man

Got to do it. Cool to see Mongrels in the mix:

Shifting the Centre of Genre

read more

Werewolves on the Moon

Not talking about the piece I have coming out in Sovereign Traces, but this grab from Werewolves on the Moon versus Vampires, which is about six different kinds of fun, and just really excellently done:

As for why I snabbed that: just still, and probably always, clocking all pre-Mongrels uses of “mongrel” in werewolf stuff. First place I saw it was George RR Martin’s The Skin Trade. It may be somewhere in Avatar’s Ferals, too. Anyway, obviously I don’t have this very centralized. But maybe someday . . .

read more

New story up

over at the cool new Automata. Wrote it after reading Donald Barthelme’s old story about the Joker. Also, shhh. Nobody tell DC.

read more

Four months till Halloween

new (tmp) theme

Crosby Designs New Website Coming Soon! | Crosby Designs

something in the old theme was looping, chewing up all the memory, and it was also defaulting to the mobile version for desktop. so: new look, for a bit. just picked something simple (and not mobile friendly, alas), as I can’t mess with it at the moment. but, hopefully, maybe:

And, that new header-img, it’s a crop from a Theo Van Alst snapshot, I think. Dude knows his way around a lens.

read more

NPR Horror Poll


Best of 2018 so far—the June roundup

Justified DVD Release Date

[ late with this one, oops—been in California since the end of May, and am evidently not thinking much . . . ]


read more

Ladies of Fright, Me, & Elizabeth

The Lineup